

Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee - 14 September 2021

Membership of Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups

Purpose: The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for

appointing members and conveners to the various Scrutiny Panels / Working Groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be

considered.

Content: This report is provided to facilitate any changes that

need to be made.

Councillors are

being asked to:

 agree the membership of Panels and Working Groups reported, and any other changes necessary.

Lead Councillor: Councillor Peter Black, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme

Committee

Lead Officer &

Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Team Leader

Report Author:

Tel: 01792 637257

E-mail: brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk

Legal Officer: Finance Officer:

Debbie Smith Paul Cridland

1. Introduction

1.1 In accordance with Council report 18 October 2012, when current scrutiny arrangements were agreed, the Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various Scrutiny Panels / Working Groups that are established.

2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

- 2.1 Healthy City Scrutiny Working Group
- 2.2 The Committee originally appointed the members and convener of this Working Group in December 2020. Having dealt with a number of other Working Groups identified in the agreed Scrutiny Work Programme arrangements are now being made for the Healthy City Working Group

to meet. The appointed convener, Cllr Mary Jones, has indicated some difficulties in undertaking this role and her availability due to possible Lord Mayoral engagements. Fresh expressions of interest from non-executive councillors were invited to participate in this scrutiny.

2.3 As a result of this revised membership is shown below, for agreement – additional members shown in bold:

Healthy City Scrutiny Working Group (19)

Labour Councillors: 10

Cyril Anderson	Peter Jones
Ryland Doyle	Hannah Lawson
Joe Hale	Wendy Lewis
Terry Hennegan	Hazel Morris
Yvonne Jardine	Jennifer Raynor (CONVENER)

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 5

Kevin Griffiths	Cheryl Philpott
Mary Jones	Mike Day
Sue Jones	

Conservative Councillors: 3

Lyndon Jones	Linda Tyler-Lloyd
Will Thomas	

Uplands Councillors: 1

Irene Mann	
------------	--

3. Guiding Principles

- 3.1 When determining membership / conveners or agreeing any changes there are some key considerations for the Committee:
 - It is necessary for more than one political group to be represented on each Panel / Working Group.
 - These bodies also need to be of a manageable size in terms of team working and effective questioning.
 - To ensure that all political groups have opportunities and are engaged.
 - Good scrutiny practice places emphasis on respect for minority party wishes around both chairing of such bodies and the work programme.
 - Being fair and balanced in the appointment of conveners, when there is interest from more than one councillor, e.g. giving opportunity to those who have not acted as convener previously.
 - The Committee should reflect on the existing 'balance' of conveners to help inform future appointments.

• A minimum of three members should be present at all Panel / Working Group meetings.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Appendices: None